Michael Martin Murphey - Cowboy Songs

When people think of Michael Martin Murphey (who also shows up on some of his albums as Michael Murphey), they tend to think of him as a crossover artist and his trademark song "Wildfire". Deep down, however, Mr. Murphey is that same young man who sang the great old cowboy songs around the campfires of the Old Sky Ranch in Lewisville, Texas. He still owns and works a ranch and is very dedicated to the preservation of the songs of the Old West. This disc showcases his talent both as an authentic Singing Cowboy and as a producer. Not only does he lend his own voice to these great trail songs, but he has also managed to get many other famous Western Artists to collaborate with him for this album. These guest appearances include heavy hitters like Don Edwards, Red Steagall, Tammy Wynette, and the Sons of the San Joaquin. The album comes with liner notes that detail the origins of many of the Cowboy ballads and includes some insight on the life of Michael Martin Murphey.

Tracks contained on the CD:
  1 Cowboy Logic
  2 I Ride Old Paint / Whopee Ti-Yi-Yo, Git Along Little Doggies
  3 Tumbling Tumbleweeds
  4 Tying Knots In The Devil's Tail

5 The Old Chisholm Trail
  6 Home On The Range
  7 What Am I Doing Here
  8 Wild Ripplin' Waters
  9 The Yellow Rose Of Texas
  10 Spanish Is The Lovin' Tongue
  11 Cowboy Pride
  12 Red River Valley
  13 Let The Cowboy Dance
  14 Jack Of Diamonds
  15 Texas Rangers
  16 When The Work's All Done This Fall
  17 The Streets Of Laredo
  18 O Bury Me Not On The Lone Prairie
  19 Where Do Cowboys Go When They Die / Reincarnation
  20 Goodbye Old Paint
  21 Happy Trails

Item Number: WEA263082P

Compact Disc

Price: $17.95

Listen to More Music     Browse Other Items